Stinging Nettles
Traditional foods · Preparation not stated · 18 of 34 nutrients per 100 g
| Nutrient | Per 100 g | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Calcium | 481 mg | USDA SR Legacy |
| Iron | 1.64 mg | USDA SR Legacy |
| Magnesium | 57 mg | USDA SR Legacy |
| Phosphorus | 71 mg | USDA SR Legacy |
| Potassium | 334 mg | USDA SR Legacy |
| Sodium | 4 mg | USDA SR Legacy |
| Zinc | 0.34 mg | USDA SR Legacy |
| Copper | 0.076 mg | USDA SR Legacy |
| Manganese | 0.779 mg | USDA SR Legacy |
| Selenium | 0.3 µg | USDA SR Legacy |
| Vitamin A (RAE / retinol equivalent) | 101 µg | USDA SR Legacy |
| Vitamin K (phylloquinone) | 499 µg | USDA SR Legacy |
| Thiamin (B1) | 0.008 mg | USDA SR Legacy |
| Riboflavin (B2) | 0.16 mg | USDA SR Legacy |
| Niacin (B3) | 0.388 mg | USDA SR Legacy |
| Vitamin B6 | 0.103 mg | USDA SR Legacy |
| Folate (total) | 14 µg | USDA SR Legacy |
| Choline | 17.4 mg | USDA SR Legacy |
About this record
Stinging Nettles is listed here under Traditional foods, with the preparation “Preparation not stated”, from the source record “Stinging Nettles, blanched (Northern Plains Indians)”. 18 of 34 nutrients have a value per 100 g (missing here: Iodine, Vitamin C, Vitamin E, Pantothenic acid (B5), Biotin (B7), Tryptophan, Threonine, Isoleucine, Leucine, Lysine, Methionine, Phenylalanine…; missing is never shown as zero). Values are copied unchanged from the source.
Where it ranks
- Vitamin K (phylloquinone): 7th of 348 foods with a value (499 µg per 100 g)
- Calcium: 48th of 790 foods with a value (481 mg per 100 g)
- Magnesium: 105th of 772 foods with a value (57 mg per 100 g)
- Manganese: 99th of 688 foods with a value (0.779 mg per 100 g)
- Vitamin A (RAE / retinol equivalent): 141st of 523 foods with a value (101 µg per 100 g)
Positions are among non-dried foods in our data that have a value for that nutrient.
Sources and limitations
- Source: USDA FoodData Central, SR Legacy: “Stinging Nettles, blanched (Northern Plains Indians)” (release 2018-04 (CSV)); Canadian Nutrient File (Health Canada): “Stinging Nettles, Indigenous, blanched” (release 2026 (14th edition, May 2026)).
- Amounts are per 100 g of the food as described by the record, in the units shown. The category and display name are assigned automatically and are being reviewed (About our data).
- Values are typical for the record and vary with variety, season and processing.
- Not medical advice; no recommended intakes are shown.